simple meal

simplemeal1The photos are terrible, but the food was delicious. I hope I remember to prepare it again some time. 

My son has pizza once a week. I make it with a thin crust, and it spends less than 10 minutes in the oven. Given the amount of time it takes the oven to reach the correct temperature, it seems wasteful to cook just one pizza in it. So I bake a large batch of vegetables as well. Some we eat that night, and others reappear the following few nights, sometimes with leaves and such to make a salad, sometimes with some pasta for he who eats it, sometimes in frittata, sometimes in risotto. These nights it is a bit cold for salad, and we have eaten a little more rice than usual, so last night I was inspired by the baby pak choy I had bought on impulse at the supermarket, and made a very simple meal that I enjoyed very much. 

In the frying pan (lowish heat, where onions normally go translucent after a while, without burning):

1. chopped capsicum (1/3 – 1/2 a capsicum)

2. once capsicum translucent, chopped pak choy layered on top, with finely chopped garlic clove and finely chopped ginger, same amount as garlic

3. sunflower seeds

4. the old roasties (potato, sweet potato, carrot, pumpkin and parsnip), just to warm.

No further additions! I think it was just what I needed.
simplemeal2

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

